Latest Food Products
Last Records |Next Records
Status Product name Brand Name UPC Category Name Comments
Adult And Children Delsym Cough Medicine Pork derived ingredients are used (01/2010)
Dha Omega 3 Organic Milk Horizon Milk Brand:Horizon,Store:Safeway Supermarket/von Supermarket,city:CALIFORNIA,California
Spaghetti Dreamfields Macaroni Product Brand:Dreamfields,Store:Jewel Supermarket,city:Huntley, IL,Illinois
Jalapeno Mustard 365 Mustard Brand:365,Store:Whole Food Market,city:Schaumburg, IL,Illinois
Shells Simply Balanced Macaroni Product Brand:Simply Balanced,Store:Target Superstore,city:Algonquin, IL,Illinois
Stone Ground Wheat Bread Schnucks Bread Brand:Schnucks,Store:Schnucks Supermarket,city:Rockford, IL,Illinois
Heat Peanuts Planters 029000075351 Nuts Paprika Extract is used. If Paprika Extract is Oleoresin Paprika then it is Halal but alcohol is used as a extracting solvent then it is not Halal. Only manufacturer and supplier of Pakrika know what solvent they use. In Oleoresin Paprika they use Halal solvent acetone or Hexane.
Tartar Sauce Hellmanns 048001520820 Tartar Sauce It is a Haram Tartar Sauce due to presence of wine.
Right Guard Sport Orginal Deodorant Aerosol Right Guard 017000068114 Antiperspirant & Deodorant No information about alcohol in fragrancernrnReference Number:rnCS201612003467
Vegetable Crisp Original Snack Clancy Snacks Brand:Clancy,Store:Aldi Supermarket,city:Huntley IL,Illinois
Face Cream Nivea Cosmetic Face cream is Mushbooh if they contain following Ingredients: New information is provided by a sister from Nivea company: I have the following information for you sent to me by Nivea in regards to animal derived ingredients. Ingredients used in the NIVEA range are, wherever possible, from non-animal sources such as vegetable based Glycerin. However there are specific materials where an effective alternative is not readily available. Please find these ingredients listed below: 1. Lanolin, Lanolin Oil, Lanolin Alcohol, Glyceryl Lanolate, Cholesterol, Cholesteryl Oleyl Carbonate, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride - derived from Woolwax (from sheep wool). 2. Sodium Tallowate - derived from Tallow (from cattle). 3. PEG-8 Beeswax, Cera Alba (Wax), Mel (Honey) - derived from Wax or honey (from bees). 4. Carboxymethyl Chitin, Ostrea/Oyster shell extract (from crustaceans). 5. Hydrolyzed Silk, Silk Powder - derived from Silk (from silk worms). 6. Hydrolyzed Milk Protein, Sine Adipe Lac, Casein, Yoghurt Powder, Sodium C8-16 Isoalkylsuccinyl, Lactoglobulin Sulfonate - derived from Milk (from cattle). 7. Carmine/CI 75470 (colour) - derived from Cochineal (from beetles). 8. Hydrolyzed Keratin - derived from Keratin (from cashmere goat or sheep wool). 9. Hydrolyzed Pearl - derived from Pearl protein (fresh water pearls). We do not use any egg based ingredients in our products. As formulations do change from time to time, we would recommend that you check the ingredients listing on the product that you wish to use for the ingredients listed above, prior to use. - 01-06-14 05:59:59 MCG Response: Ingredients from Bee wax, Sheep Wool, from silk are Halal. But red color from Cochineal or Carmine is Haram because all insects are Haram in Islam except locust. Ingredients from non zabiha beef are not Halal. All dairy based ingredients are only Halal if they are Halal or kosher certified. Please avoid all those Nivea products if they are made from above ingredients. January 2014
Shaving Cream Barbasol Shaving Cream Animal fat base steraic acid is used sometimes so they cannot guarantee that it is free from animal by product. They use alcohol in one of their product. May 2011
Rigatoni De Cecco Macaroni Product Brand:De Cecco,Store:Lucky Supermarkets & Save More Supermarkets,city:Danville, CA/ Antioch, CA,California
Simply Made Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Keebler 030100109181 Cookies Due to presence of Vanilla Extract which contains 35% alcohol in it.
Gold, Classic Palmolive Bar Soap Made from 100% non zabiha beef fat, pork fat free
All Aim Toothpastes Aim Toothpastes Not Halal. Alcohol is used in flavor. Reference number 005648411A dated July 2, 2014.
Nut Crisp Almond Crunch Bars Nature Valley Bars Brand:Nature Valley,Store:Safeway Supermarket/von Supermarket,city:CALIFORNIA,California
Throw Back Gobstopper Nestle 079200619091 Candies No Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.
Hot Dog Buns Publix Buns Brand:Publix,Store:Publix Supermarket,city:Orlando, FL,Florida
French Dressing Schnucks Salad Dressing Brand:Schnucks,Store:Schnucks Supermarket,city:Rockford, IL,Illinois

Advertise your Product here

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Your Donation helps to Muslim Consumers

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Post your commercial here

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Ingredients details of Haram and Halal

Status Ingredient * category *
Dried Milk Dairy Ingredients
Sodium Aluminum Phosphate Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients
BetaCarotene Grain & Plant based Ingredients
Sushi Food From sea
Safflower Grain & Plant based Ingredients
Baking Powder Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients

Non Food Products

Product Name* Brand category Description
Vaporizer Vapor Rub Vaporizer No animal derived ingredients are used Refernce Number: 03347348 (01/2010)
Throat spray and other products Cepacol Throat Medicine No animal derived ingredients are used Refernce Number: 384290 (01/2010)
Soar Throat Lozenges Sucrets Soar Throat No animal derived ingredients and no alcohol are used A sister has this email: Thank you for your inquiry None of the Sucrets contain any alcohol or animal byproducts Best Regards Insight Pharmaceuticals Consumer Affairs Department 18003447239 consumeraffairs@insightpharmacom March 2014
Sudafed 12 Hours Sudafed 24 Hours Sudafed Sinus Pressure Congestion Not Halal because Magnesium Stearate is made with either pork or beef fat Company did not clarify the animal fat November 2013
You can also contribute with us. Give us Information which porduct is Halal and Haram
News / Alert

Vanilla is Haram.

Vanilla Extract: Vanilla extract is made by percolating ethyl alcohol and water through macerated vanilla beans. Most companies use a consistent blend of beans, sometimes from several regions, to create their signature flavor. The extraction process takes about 48 hours after which the extracts mellow in tanks with the beans, for a duration ranging from days to weeks, depending on the processor, before being filtered into a holding tank where the amber-colored liquid extract remains until bottled. Ingredients like sugar, corn syrup, caramel, colors, and stabilizers may be added to standardize the extract. By FDA standards of identity, vanilla extract must contain at least 35% alcohol. 

Latest information on Cheetose: They are still not Halal

Br. Asad has sent this information:

From: <noreply@fritolay.com>
Date: 2 May 2016 at 13:15
Subject: A Message from Consumer Relations - RE: Cheetos® Soufflés - Grignotines à saveur de fromage, Reference #062747156A
To: asad.

Hi Asad,

Thank you for contacting PepsiCo Foods.

Many of the cheeses used in our seasonings are made with animal enzymes, similar to cheeses sold in the grocery store.  If you want to avoid these enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list "cheese" and "whey" as ingredients.  Only a few snacks have animal flavours and they will be listed on the ingredient statement, not hidden under "natural flavours."  

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay's Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Tostitos, Original SunChips and Rold Gold Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

Thank you again for choosing Frito Lay snacks.  We will continue to provide the information you need to make safe, great-tasting choices.


Sincerely,

Marie Lakoun
Consumer Relations
062747156A

All Honey Nut Cereals are not Halal

All Honey Nut Cereals are made with alcohol containing flavor so they are not Halal.

All Dove Antiperspirant and Deodorant are not Halal

Kindly do not use any Dove Antiperspirant and Deodorant because Unilever company will not guarantee that they are free from animal by-products.

The Unilever company said that they use vegetable or animal fat including pork fat or synthetic based ingredients whichever available during the time of manufacturing.

They do not have information about the presence or absence of use of hidden alcohol in fragrance. (Reference Number 155454).

Beware of "Dart" foam paper products is haram

Dart Foam Products still use animal fat (Pork or Beef) based Zinc Stearate on molds to make the various foam products

Reference : Dart representative (Janene.Cooke@dart.biz)

International Paper Vending Hot Paper Cups are Halal

A Muslim consumer has sent this information: My Question is on the Vending Hot paper cup by International Paper Foodservice Business, whether that is Halal. I checked with the customer care representative over the phone on the inner coating of the cup. the representative told me that they use Polyethylene coating. No animal fats or alcohol is used in the process.

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER
halal

Halal

In Islam, Halal is an Arabic term meaning “lawful or permissible” and not only encompasses food and drink, but all matters of daily life.

It is well known in the meat trade that Muslims consume halal meat. However, at times questions are asked, what is halal? In Arabic it simply means permissible or allowed. Opposite to it is haram, which means forbidden or not allowed. Arabic is the language of the Qur`an, a scripture revealed to the Holy Prophet of Islam by the Almighty Allah to be followed in its entirety by the Muslims. Now to make meat halal or permissible, an animal or poultry has to be slaughtered in a ritual way known as Zibah or Zabihah. To make it readily comprehended halal is somewhat like Jewish kosher and, Zibah is with some exception similar to Shechita. The Qur`an gives following underlined injunctions in chapter al-Maida 5:3 that

Read more

WHILE MANY THINGS ARE CLEARLY HALAL OR CLEARLY HARAAM, THERE ARE SOME THINGS WHICH ARE NOT CLEAR. THESE ITEMS ARE CONSIDERED QUESTIONABLE AND MORE INFORMATION IS NEEDED TO CATEGORIZE THEM AS HALAL OR HARAAM.SUCH ITEMS ARE OFTEN REFERRED TO AS MUSHBOOH, WHICH MEANS DOUBTFUL OR QUESTIONABLE...

Haram

The opposite of Halal is Haram, which means “unlawful, not permissible or prohibited.” The following categories are Haram:

  • Alcohol – intoxicants and narcotic drugs
  • Blood and blood by-products - blood is the circulatory cleansing fluid of the body and is not to be consumed
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, scavengers, and animals improperly slaughtered, sick or dying before slaughter
  • Idolatry - any animals or poultry sacrificed for voodoo, witchcraft or practice that denies the existence of the Creator are not to be consumed. Swine and all pork by-products and/or their derivatives.
  • Foods contaminated with any of the above products or with "impurities” (in Arabic, "najis") from processing, such as manure, urine, rodent droppings, infectious fluids, or pus are considered Haram.

Read more

Views of our Religious advisors

Our religious advisors Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan and Mufti Syed Ahmedul Quadri have mentioned the following ahadith for supporting their views:

  • Our Fuqaha (religious advisers) said that the Arabic word khamer as mentioned in Quran means specifically to intoxicant made from grapes because it is the common practice in those days to make intoxicant from grapes but they said it does not mean that the alcohol from other sources is not Haram, As reported in Bukhari that in those days, the intoxicant is made from grapes, dates, wheat, barley and honey.
  • According to Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi and Sahee Bukhari 492 Narrated by Aisha R.A, Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said all drinks that intoxicate are unlawful to drink (Kullu Sharabin Askara Fahuwa Haramun).
  • According to Sahee Bukhari, Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Nisai and Ibn Maja Narrated by Ibn Omar RA, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is khamer and every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu muskirun khumrun wa Kullu Muskirun Haramun).

Read more

BREWER'S YEAST EXTRACTOR AUTOLYZED YEAST

Brewer's yeast is obtained from the unicellular fungus. There is two kind of yeast extract or autolyzed yeast, one is made from baker's yeast which is a Halal ingredient used in soups, frozen fish products to provide meaty flavor. The other kind is made from brewer yeast obtained from beer making. Brewer yeast is used to ferment sugar during beer making. Brewer's yeast is only used in cheese crackers and cheeses to provide harsh and bitter flavor. It is also grown on food crops to make nutritional supplements. This type of brewer yeast which is grown the crops is considered as Halal.

Read more

GELATIN: Gelatin is not the case of Tabdeele Mahiya.

There is lot of literature available about how gelatin is made, which can be found on the internet. But we have to understand the basic biochemistry of gelatin raw material and gelatin itself. The basic components of collagen (raw material for gelatin) and gelatin itself are the protein and amino acids. If the components of the raw material and finished product is the same, that means the chemical reaction and processing does not cause any changes to the original component. Then it does not become the case for Tabdeele Mahiya.

Read more

BAR SOAP:THERE IS NO PHYSICAL AND CHEMICAL CHANGES (TABDEELE MAHIYA) DURING THE PROCESSING OF PORK GELATIN AND BAR SOAPS MADE FROM PIG FAT

There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwas (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

Read more

WINE VINEGAR: THE CHEMISTRY OF WINE VINEGAR AND ITS RELATION WITH FIQAH

There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwas (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

Read more

This space is for advertisement

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Become a Sponsor

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Sponser Wanted

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Become a Sponsor

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Advertise your Product here

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Your Donation helps to Muslim Consumers

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Advertise your business here

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com