Latest Food Products
Last Records |Next Records
Status Product name Brand Name UPC Category Name Comments
Deli Mustard Grey Poupon 054400015034 Mustard It is a Haram Mustard due to the presence of wine.
Creamy Peanut Butter Peanut Delight Peanut Butter Brand:Peanut Delight,Store:Aldi Supermarket,city:Huntley IL,Illinois
Instant Oatmeal Original/regular Schnucks Instant Oatmeal Brand:Schnucks,Store:Schnucks Supermarket,city:Rockford, IL,Illinois
Crunchy Peanut Butter Adams Peanut Butter Brand:Adams,Store:Nob Hill Foods,city:San Ramon, CA,California
Frosted Flakes Cereal Meijer Cereal Brand:Meijer,Store:Meijer Supermarket,city:Algonquin, IL,Illinois
Pure Vegetable Oil Carlini Oil Brand:Carlini,Store:Aldi Supermarket,city:Huntley IL,Illinois
Crispy Rice & Wheat Flakes With Red Berry Cereal Essentially Yours Cereal Brand:Essentially Yours,Store:Waldbaums Supermarket,city:Queens, NY,New York
Toasted Flakes With Strawberry Cereal Kroger Cereal Brand:Kroger,Store:Kroger Supermarket,city:Houston, TX,Texas
Quinoa & Brown Rice Seeds Of Change Rice Brand:Seeds Of Change,Store:Costco Supermarket,city:Lake In The Hills, IL,Illinois
Spicy Brown Mustard Schnucks Mustard Brand:Schnucks,Store:Schnucks Supermarket,city:Rockford, IL,Illinois
Shredded Cheddar Cheese Shoprite Cheese Brand:Shoprite,Store:Shoprite Supermarket,city:Piscataway, NJ,New Jersey
All Moisturizers Nivea Moisturizer No animal fat derived ingredients are used and no information about alcohol in fragrance.
Tartrazine Color Cosmetic Ingredients Tartazine if obtained from natural source then it is soluble in water then it is Halal. If obtained from synthetic dye then it is Halal only if it mix with vegetable oil. November 2013
Fd&c Yellow No. 5 Or Fd&c Red No. 40 Colors Cosmetic Ingredients FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 are chemical dyes and they are Halal if used in pure granular or powder form but if the FD&C colors are required to make it in liquid form then a solvent is needed to make FD&C colors in liquid form. Vegetable oil or glycerin is used to make liquid artificial colors. Liquid FD&C colors are Halal only if vegetable oil or soy fat based glycerin is used. If glycerin is obtained from pork fat then liquid FD&+C colors will be Haram. glycerin was used as a solvent. November 2013
Crisps Corn & Rice Cereal Giant Cereal Brand:Giant,Store:Giant Supermarket,city:Philadelphia, PA,Pennsylvania
Mini Bagel Plain Thomas Bagels Brand:ThomasStore:Woodmans Supermarketcity:Carpentersville IL& WisconsinIllinois & Wisconsin
Twist Pretzel Bachman Pretzel Brand:Bachman,Store:Waldbaums Supermarket,city:Queens, NY,New York
Honey Wheat Crackers Ritz 044000031169 Crackers Vanilla is used as a Natural Flavor.
Dry Idea Advanced Dry Unscented Antiperspirant & Deodorant Dry Idea 017000068176 Antiperspirant & Deodorant No animal derived ingredients are used It is a unscented means no fragrance Reference Number CS201611010514
Half & Half Borden Half & Half Brand:Borden,Store:Kroger Supermarket,city:Houston, TX,Texas

Advertise your Product here

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Your Donation helps to Muslim Consumers

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Post your commercial here

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Ingredients details of Haram and Halal

Status Ingredient * category *
Sesame Grain & Plant based Ingredients
Modified Food Starch Grain & Plant based Ingredients
Textured Vegetable Protein Grain & Plant based Ingredients
Rapeseed Grain & Plant based Ingredients
Teriyaki Teriyaki Suace Grain & plant based ingredients
Carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) Grain & Plant based Ingredients

Non Food Products

Product Name* Brand category Description
Vaporizer Vapor Rub Vaporizer No animal derived ingredients are used Refernce Number: 03347348 (01/2010)
Throat spray and other products Cepacol Throat Medicine No animal derived ingredients are used Refernce Number: 384290 (01/2010)
Soar Throat Lozenges Sucrets Soar Throat No animal derived ingredients and no alcohol are used A sister has this email: Thank you for your inquiry None of the Sucrets contain any alcohol or animal byproducts Best Regards Insight Pharmaceuticals Consumer Affairs Department 18003447239 consumeraffairs@insightpharmacom March 2014
Sudafed 12 Hours Sudafed 24 Hours Sudafed Sinus Pressure Congestion Not Halal because Magnesium Stearate is made with either pork or beef fat Company did not clarify the animal fat November 2013
You can also contribute with us. Give us Information which porduct is Halal and Haram
News / Alert

Latest information on Cheetose: They are still not Halal

Br. Asad has sent this information:

From: <noreply@fritolay.com>
Date: 2 May 2016 at 13:15
Subject: A Message from Consumer Relations - RE: Cheetos® Soufflés - Grignotines à saveur de fromage, Reference #062747156A
To: asad.

Hi Asad,

Thank you for contacting PepsiCo Foods.

Many of the cheeses used in our seasonings are made with animal enzymes, similar to cheeses sold in the grocery store.  If you want to avoid these enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list "cheese" and "whey" as ingredients.  Only a few snacks have animal flavours and they will be listed on the ingredient statement, not hidden under "natural flavours."  

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay's Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Tostitos, Original SunChips and Rold Gold Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

Thank you again for choosing Frito Lay snacks.  We will continue to provide the information you need to make safe, great-tasting choices.


Sincerely,

Marie Lakoun
Consumer Relations
062747156A

All Honey Nut Cereals are not Halal

All Honey Nut Cereals are made with alcohol containing flavor so they are not Halal.

All Dove Antiperspirant and Deodorant are not Halal

Kindly do not use any Dove Antiperspirant and Deodorant because Unilever company will not guarantee that they are free from animal by-products.

The Unilever company said that they use vegetable or animal fat including pork fat or synthetic based ingredients whichever available during the time of manufacturing.

They do not have information about the presence or absence of use of hidden alcohol in fragrance. (Reference Number 155454).

Beware of "Dart" foam paper products is haram

Dart Foam Products still use animal fat (Pork or Beef) based Zinc Stearate on molds to make the various foam products

Reference : Dart representative (Janene.Cooke@dart.biz)

International Paper Vending Hot Paper Cups are Halal

A Muslim consumer has sent this information: My Question is on the Vending Hot paper cup by International Paper Foodservice Business, whether that is Halal. I checked with the customer care representative over the phone on the inner coating of the cup. the representative told me that they use Polyethylene coating. No animal fats or alcohol is used in the process.

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER
halal

Halal

In Islam, Halal is an Arabic term meaning “lawful or permissible” and not only encompasses food and drink, but all matters of daily life.

It is well known in the meat trade that Muslims consume halal meat. However, at times questions are asked, what is halal? In Arabic it simply means permissible or allowed. Opposite to it is haram, which means forbidden or not allowed. Arabic is the language of the Qur`an, a scripture revealed to the Holy Prophet of Islam by the Almighty Allah to be followed in its entirety by the Muslims. Now to make meat halal or permissible, an animal or poultry has to be slaughtered in a ritual way known as Zibah or Zabihah. To make it readily comprehended halal is somewhat like Jewish kosher and, Zibah is with some exception similar to Shechita. The Qur`an gives following underlined injunctions in chapter al-Maida 5:3 that

Read more

WHILE MANY THINGS ARE CLEARLY HALAL OR CLEARLY HARAAM, THERE ARE SOME THINGS WHICH ARE NOT CLEAR. THESE ITEMS ARE CONSIDERED QUESTIONABLE AND MORE INFORMATION IS NEEDED TO CATEGORIZE THEM AS HALAL OR HARAAM.SUCH ITEMS ARE OFTEN REFERRED TO AS MUSHBOOH, WHICH MEANS DOUBTFUL OR QUESTIONABLE...

Haram

The opposite of Halal is Haram, which means “unlawful, not permissible or prohibited.” The following categories are Haram:

  • Alcohol – intoxicants and narcotic drugs
  • Blood and blood by-products - blood is the circulatory cleansing fluid of the body and is not to be consumed
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, scavengers, and animals improperly slaughtered, sick or dying before slaughter
  • Idolatry - any animals or poultry sacrificed for voodoo, witchcraft or practice that denies the existence of the Creator are not to be consumed. Swine and all pork by-products and/or their derivatives.
  • Foods contaminated with any of the above products or with "impurities” (in Arabic, "najis") from processing, such as manure, urine, rodent droppings, infectious fluids, or pus are considered Haram.

Read more

Views of our Religious advisors

Our religious advisors Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan and Mufti Syed Ahmedul Quadri have mentioned the following ahadith for supporting their views:

  • Our Fuqaha (religious advisers) said that the Arabic word khamer as mentioned in Quran means specifically to intoxicant made from grapes because it is the common practice in those days to make intoxicant from grapes but they said it does not mean that the alcohol from other sources is not Haram, As reported in Bukhari that in those days, the intoxicant is made from grapes, dates, wheat, barley and honey.
  • According to Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi and Sahee Bukhari 492 Narrated by Aisha R.A, Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said all drinks that intoxicate are unlawful to drink (Kullu Sharabin Askara Fahuwa Haramun).
  • According to Sahee Bukhari, Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Nisai and Ibn Maja Narrated by Ibn Omar RA, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is khamer and every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu muskirun khumrun wa Kullu Muskirun Haramun).

Read more

BREWER'S YEAST EXTRACTOR AUTOLYZED YEAST

Brewer's yeast is obtained from the unicellular fungus. There is two kind of yeast extract or autolyzed yeast, one is made from baker's yeast which is a Halal ingredient used in soups, frozen fish products to provide meaty flavor. The other kind is made from brewer yeast obtained from beer making. Brewer yeast is used to ferment sugar during beer making. Brewer's yeast is only used in cheese crackers and cheeses to provide harsh and bitter flavor. It is also grown on food crops to make nutritional supplements. This type of brewer yeast which is grown the crops is considered as Halal.

Read more

GELATIN: Gelatin is not the case of Tabdeele Mahiya.

There is lot of literature available about how gelatin is made, which can be found on the internet. But we have to understand the basic biochemistry of gelatin raw material and gelatin itself. The basic components of collagen (raw material for gelatin) and gelatin itself are the protein and amino acids. If the components of the raw material and finished product is the same, that means the chemical reaction and processing does not cause any changes to the original component. Then it does not become the case for Tabdeele Mahiya.

Read more

BAR SOAP:THERE IS NO PHYSICAL AND CHEMICAL CHANGES (TABDEELE MAHIYA) DURING THE PROCESSING OF PORK GELATIN AND BAR SOAPS MADE FROM PIG FAT

There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwas (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

Read more

WINE VINEGAR: THE CHEMISTRY OF WINE VINEGAR AND ITS RELATION WITH FIQAH

There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwas (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

Read more

This space is for advertisement

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Become a Sponsor

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Sponser Wanted

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Become a Sponsor

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Advertise your Product here

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Your Donation helps to Muslim Consumers

Contact at: advert@halalguider.com

Advertise your business here

For contact at: advert@halalguider.com